Urban VPN: Glossary

What is a kill switch VPN?

If your VPN connections stop, a VPN kill switch feature forestalls your PC, phone, or tablet from getting to the web. If your VPN stops working, there is like this no chance of your IP address and other confidential data being revealed. Your internet connection's security and protection will stay in salvageable shape, therefore.

Habitually, the kill switch choice of VPNs is turned on by default, but you can opt to turn it off if you prefer. If you turn it off, even if your VPN isn't connected, you can still use the internet. On the other hand, if you enable it, your VPN must be connected in order for you to transfer any data through your internet connection.

How does kill switch VPN work?

The following four procedures govern how VPN kill switches function:

  • Scanning

A VPN kill switch checks for real-time changes in your network status or IP address to analyze your connection to the VPN server.

  • Detecting

The kill switch feature alerts you immediately if there is any disruption to your VPN connection.

  • Blocking

Depending on the settings of your VPN service, the VPN may disconnect your complete computer from the internet or may only block specific programs.

  • Reconnecting

The VPN app's kill switch disengages the instant your VPN connection is established again, automatically reestablishing your connection.

Can you switch VPN on and off manually?

Yes, you can switch VPN on and off manually. Most VPNs come with software or an app that you can use to control the VPN. Use the same button you used to enable your Windows, Mac, Android, or iOS VPN by launching it and clicking, tapping, or toggling it. The button might have text that reads Disconnect, Turn Off, or Stop, or it could just have an icon for power. The goal remains the same whatever.

What is Wi-Fi kill switch, and how is it different from than VPN kill switch?

Knowing how to utilize a Wi-Fi kill switch is crucial given today's prevalence of fraud and unwanted activity. The fact that "kill switch" isn't a recognized term may surprise you. However, it is referred to as a feature provided by numerous VPN service providers. When your encrypted connection is lost, this feature automatically reduces the speed of your internet connection.

In the event that you suspect an attack on your system, a Wi-Fi kill can assist keep your sensitive data secure. When we refer to an attack, we mean any instance in which the system begins acting maliciously, such as automatically downloading and uploading files. You can quickly terminate the connection with the Wi-Fi kill switch, saving yourself the trouble of having to disconnect the Wi-Fi cable or the router manually.

However, a VPN has a similar function, but you have to use a VPN to use this feature. If you lose your VPN connection, a VPN kill switch instantly disconnects your device from the internet. An automatic kill switch stops unsecured internet connections once your VPN connection is lost, preserving the security of your data and privacy.

Protect Your Privacy with Urban VPN

Download Urban VPN to enjoy complete online security and privacy while hiding IP address.





© 2022 Urban VPN. All rights reserved.